top of page

Yoga Club Teacher Stories: Mindfully Managing Invisible Pain

Throughout high school and college, I spent long hours studying. When I started working, my work ethic continued. My innate desire to perform well was recognized and rewarded through more responsibility, promotions, and moves across the country.


I often pushed through invisible pain. Travel, sitting, standing, diet, activities, all were contributors. When I was more present and mindful, at home, my chronic pain became visible.

Approximately 20% of adults in the US have chronic pain. According to Mayo Clinic, chronic pain is a serious health condition. Like any long-term health problem, the condition can lead to complications beyond physical symptoms, such as depression, anxiety and difficulty sleeping. Chronic pain can make it difficult to keep up at work, manage tasks at home and attend social gatherings.



I've lived with chronic pain for many years. After seeing several doctors who could not find a cause for the pain and would only treat symptoms, I looked to alternative medicine and obtained some relief through acupuncture, physical therapy, massage, and yoga.


Journey to Yin Yoga


An avid yoga student, I practiced yoga for years and went on yoga retreats in 4 countries. I aspired to become a yoga teacher, but had not made the time investment to complete yoga teacher training. Last summer, I completed a 1 month intensive yoga teacher training. While this was a busy month, and taxing on my body, I achieved my goal.


Because of my busy lifestyle and chronic pain, I was drawn to Yin yoga. Yin yoga is a grounding practice where passive stretches are held with the use of props, for a few minutes to allow the mind and body to relax. I explored different ways to modify poses to not only minimize pain, but also to receive the calming benefits of the pose. I soon became less focused on getting into a pose, and felt my body relax.


I completed Yin yoga teacher certification earlier this year. I now encourage my students to arrive on the mat, and recognize that each day will bring something different. Because my goal is to give students their own experience, I offer modifications and welcome students to explore what works best for them- knowing they can also come out of the pose and focus on the breath.


Mindfulness Practice


Through having chronic pain, I practiced mindfulness regularly, becoming aware of my body and what makes pain manageable and when stress and pain arise. I now also practice mindfulness through Yin yoga and this simple breath practice which is my go to in times of stress or pain:

Wherever you are, seated or standing, close your eyes and focus on your breath. Breathe normally, not changing anything. Breathing in deeply and exhaling out fully. Tune out any noise or distractions and just focus on your breath. At your own pace, go for 6-10 rounds. Slowly open your eyes.


Make it your own


I invite you to recognize and be aware of yourself in moments of stress and moments of calm. By practicing a few moments of mindfulness, whether that's taking a walk outside, practicing Yin yoga, or doing a short breath practice, we can limit some of the additional stress we often place on ourselves.


Shreya Prasad is a Digital Marketing Consultant and Yoga Teacher based in Austin, TX. She is a Yoga Alliance 200 RYT certified yoga teacher at Yoga Club, specializing in Vinyasa, Barre, and Yin Yoga. Join her upcoming classes for a balanced and accessible practice, with modifications available for all levels. Visit Shreya's page for more details and class schedule.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page